top of page

New Release Roundup (2024-07-09)

With so much great music coming out of Saskatchewan these days it can be tough to stay in the loop. NSMZ is here to help. So saddle up, we're going to rustle up some new music right here in our own backyard; it's time for a new roundup!

1. "Aces & 8's" by Berk Jodoin

"Aces & 8's" was the first single off Berk Jodoin's newly released album Fly Away. Now, anyone familiar with Old West mythology knows that aces and 8’s were the cards Wild Bill Hickok was holding when he was fatally shot during a poker game, inspiring the infamous name, “the dead man’s hand.” But for Jodoin, “Aces & 8’s” symbolizes the larger day-to-day struggles so many in Canadian society face; the end we all face.

Why do we chase elusive goals? Why do we work ourselves to death just trying to live? These are the questions Berk Jodoin was asking himself as he wrote “Aces & 8’s.” The answer? “It makes no difference, ‘cause we’re all gonna die,” Jodoin intones over the song’s stomping blues beat. It’s fatalist to be sure, but in Jodoin’s view, “This is as honest as a song can get. We all have our own answers to those questions, but in the end it’s the same for everyone.”

2. "Candy" by The Hourhand

The Hourhand's latest single "Candy" is a groovy blend of organ, guitar, and drums with smooth bluesy vocals. The band is exploring a more traditional electric blues sound, showing a lot of maturity in their new music. Co-produced by Jon Harvey and Michae Kiere, this is their third single from Threshold Recording Studios. Catch them at Loon Lake's Dog Patch Music Festival this summer, their only Saskatchewan festival this season.

3. "Born on the Bayou" by Captain Midnight & The Brothers G

This past winter The Brothers G got together with their friends in Captain Midnight to record a cover of the Creedence Clearwater Revival classic "Born on the Bayou". Recorded at Powder Room Studios in Hafford, SK. Engineered and mixed by Jordan Gall. Mastered by Colin Klassen in Saskatoon, SK. Cover art by Kit Langfield.

4. "frail" by blind commentary

blind commentary is a shoe-gaze and alternative-rock band based in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada. Their first release, "frail" is a song that was heavily influenced by mental issues and the struggles of handling these issues. It was the first single from the newly released EP, eyes open and staring.

5. "Twisted Game" by Out of Frequency

“Twisted Game” is the second single teaser for the upcoming album Enemies We Make & Lovers Left Behind. This song has classic 90s punk vibes.

6. "Letters to Bismarck" by November Down

Originating from a boozy evening at the Winston’s open mic, according to the band this song is their best so far. We'll be staying tuned to see what they come out with next. Lacey Winstone created the cover art.


There you have it, a fun selection of new music from local bands. Your support for local music is truly appreciated, so keep exploring and stay connected for more homegrown talent right at your fingertips.

If you have new music you'd like to see featured on our New Music Roundup, let us know! Send us an email with some basic information (a short bio, song description, album art, upcoming releases and shows, links, etc.) and maybe you can be a part of the next one.

Can't wait to hear from you!

Melanie Macpherson

Managing Editor, NSMZ

54 views0 comments


bottom of page